https://www.duolingo.com/Kismet

Unanticipated benefits...

Just to set the stage, I'm a grade 4/5 teacher in an economically depressed area of a mid-sized Canadian city (pop. less than 1,000,000). I'm lucky enough to work for an administrator who understands the value of manageable class size; I have only 20 students. However, our students face many obstacles such as high migrancy, poor nutrition, low income, unstable home situations, low literacy rates in the community, gang activity, lack of recreational opportunities...and the list goes on. Most of my students are at least one year below grade level; one of my grade fives and three of my grade fours are currently working at a late grade one level. And in spite of all that (or maybe because of it) I absolutely love my job. I wouldn't trade it for anything.

"So," you wonder idly to yourself, "what does any of that have to do with Duolingo?" Well, I'm glad you asked! This year (for the first time) I have to teach my own basic core French. A little over three weeks ago, I introduced my students to Duolingo for the first time, hoping that all would go smoothly (while preparing myself for a complete disaster). I have two autistic students, one very hard of hearing, three who lash out with violence at the least frustration and one with the attention span of a gnat. Not generally a recipe for success. When we use Duolingo, though, everyone is fully engaged and learning in spite of themselves. They absolutely love it!

But about those unanticipated benefits...there are two I'd like to share with you. The first is about grammar and spelling. Twice already I have noticed students who, when editing their daily writing, have fixed grammar or spelling errors (in English) "because I remember it from Duolingo." Well...YAY!!! I kind of expected that my students would improve their French through Duolingo - but who knew they'd also improve their English?!