https://www.duolingo.com/brazenape

Needs Functional Language Use & Speaking Practice

Currently, Duolingo is a fantastic program that I recommend to my peers, students, and colleagues (I'm an English language teacher).

There are currently two things that are really missing: Speaking practice and Functional Language Use.

Speaking Practice can be done by allowing users to record themselves and receive feedback from other native users. This will allow everyone to develop all 4 skills instead of just Listening, Reading and Writing.

Functional language use means language used with a purpose. Thanks to your website, I know how to say "Flies like candy" in Portuguese (Moscas gostam de doce.) but when would I need to use that sentence? Including "Menu Vocabulary," this site needs practical categories like "Ordering in a Restaurant," "Borrowing a Book from the Library," "Fixing your Computer," etc. This way, we can see how a typical exchange might go and apply the new language to an authentic situation that we might become involved in if we visit the country where the language is used.

That said, I do love this site for learning vocabulary. Thanks very much for such a great resource!

January 8, 2013

23 Comments

Thanks guys for the comments. For the devs, here is an example of how you can integrate Functional Language Use into the program. Start with a simple sample dialogue:

MEETING FRIENDS:

Sam: Hi. Bob: Hello. How are you? Sam: I'm fine, thank you. How are you? Bob: I'm fine. Are you busy Saturday? Sam: No, I don't have plans. Bob: Do you want to see a movie? Sam: I'd love to!

...then make questions based on the dialogue encouraging language use. Examples:

GAP FILL:

Bob: Are you _ Saturday?

a) funny *b) busy c) purple

SENTENCE COMPLETION:

Bob: Do you want to ____?

a) going shopping b) saw a play *c) see a movie

Q&A:

Sam: No, I don't have plans. Bob: _____ Sam: I'd love to!

user writes [Do you want to see a movie?]

OUT OF ORDER SENTENCES: