Duolingo is the most popular way to learn languages in the world. Best of all, it's 100% free!

https://www.duolingo.com/Mr.Smilie

My first conversation with a native Spanish speaker.. quite the funny memory!

Mr.Smilie

Hola a todos

I have been learning with Duolingo for around 13 or 14 months now, I finished the tree a few months ago just before going on a family vacation and a couple of weeks later I became a little lax on my refreshing… but I have also been practicing my comprehension by watching shows and reading books and listening to Coffee break Spanish (ok, so the books have been going slowly too.. But I am starting to understand more and more that I read) I also found a nice sight that has open streaming on many of the cartoons that I grew up with as a kid and it’s been great to see them again and use them to practice my Spanish. However, in the year + that I have been learning I am sorry to say that I haven’t had the opportunity to converse with a native speaker.. Well! Last week I found out about a local gathering for a “Tuesday night language exchange” at the local biblioteca and I became pretty excited to get the chance to actually talk with someone that speaks Spanish! I even spent a lot of time forming sentences in my head that I could use hoping that my nerves wouldn’t get the best of me.. So yesterday came around and my sisters, mom, and I went to check it out and see how many people where there and whatnot. When we first went in we found a group of about 7 or 8 people and as I found a seat I was told that we were saying “nosotros nombres y colores fabritos, in the strange setting it took me a moment (that felt even longer) to translate what felt like I should know (and was suppose to know) in an instant, and while I did managed to work out a “soy Meshach, mi colore.. ¿Fabrito? Es.. Amarillo.” I was very nervous about saying the wrong things and not knowing what was being asked with the speed things were being said around me, but shortly after th