https://www.duolingo.com/RuizAPR

Mandarin, Japanese, Korean: My Experiences

RuizAPR

Starting in my Freshman Year of high school, I only spoke English. I barely spoke the most basic Spanish. Now that I turned 18 today, approaching my high school graduation, I've done a lot of reflecting. I have grown a lot as a person in my four years of high school. Some changes were good, others less so, but I am very content with who I've become. One of the changes I made was in my awareness and knowledge of language, culture, and things outside my perspective in general. I will specifically be discussing my experiences with learning Mandarin Chinese, Japanese, and Korean.

I studied Mandarin in freshman year, but it was not available on sophomore year, and only an online course was available in the final quarter of Junior year, and now I have Mandarin again, but it is a very disruptive class. So a decent chunk of my Mandarin studies has had to take place outside of school. At first, I didn't know about 简体字 and 繁體字, but when I did, I started learning them both simultaneously. My thoughts on Mandarin are: it is interesting learning a tone-sensitive language that has a writing system entirely different from the concept of alphabets and phonetics that are relatively different from English. There is, however, a method to the 'madness'; by learning radicals and simple characters, guessing pronunciations of new, more complicated characters becomes much easier. The grammar of Mandarin also starts off basic, but going further into detail with it, it is much more complicated than I anticipated, which I enjoy, because there's no accomplishment without challenge. Having to learn 3000-4000 characters just to achieve functional literacy seems intimidating, but it keeps looking simpler and simpler the more one forgets of a 'standard set' and just focuses on learning the characters and how to communicate. Learning should, after all, be an experience, not a checklist. I also can't argue agains