https://www.duolingo.com/SenorDustin

Idea: Progress Quizzes and Skill/Group of Skills Specific Tests.

First of all I want to say a big thank you to all of those who have made duolingo for schools better. This is my third year of using duolingo in the classroom and the website has come a long way since then.

As a teacher, I am now able to be a little more mastery-based with my students than I was when I used textbooks alone. Along with duolingo, I also use an LMS (learning management system) for quizzes and tests, but I think that duolingo could tweak just a couple of things and teachers like me wouldn't need a separate platform anymore:

1. Let students who are in a class take a progress quiz without having to pay lingots, and let teachers see the results (with a time stamp of course) on the dashboard. The whole purpose of this would be to let students see their progress as they go along in the language, but with a more holistic approach. They wouldn't know what to expect, so they would need to be refreshing skills often to keep on top of vocabulary and grammar.

2. Let teachers assign skill-specific quizzes where students can't peek, but also allow teachers to cluster several skills together in one quiz/test (maybe a max of 2-3) so that they can show their mastery of certain skills in chunks (again with time stamps). This idea along with #1 would allow me to have more time spent speaking in my class and would make duolingo even more prevalent in schools.

That's it for now. If the staff could perhaps comment on how probable it is to implement these, etc. I would appreciate it greatly.

January 20, 2016

5 Comments

https://www.duolingo.com/vivisaurus