https://www.duolingo.com/italianboy96

Sicilian Lesson 1

italianboy96

Before I get started with today's lesson, I'd like to state that I've never done a lesson like this before, so If I'm no good, please don't bash me. Also, If there's any mistakes or anything I can do to make the lesson better, please don't hesitate to tell me.

Sicilian is a language spoken is southern Italy and Sicily; it is a Romance language. One theory even states that it was the first out of Vulgar Latin though this theory isn't widely held among linguists. Its linguistic influences included Greek, Arabic, Catalan, French, Spanish, Provencal, Lombard, a myriad of other languages, and of course, Italian. Today we will be discussing the basics of Sicilian. First, we must discuss an alphabet, because what would a language be without an alphabet?

There are a total of twenty three letters in the Sicilian Alphabet. The letters "k", "x", "y", and "w" are only used in foreign words in Sicilian.

The Sicilian Alphabet goes like this:

<pre> Letter Name of Letter Pronunciation a a ah b bi bee c ci tchee d di dee Dd ddi ddhee e e eh F effi ehffee G gi jee H acca ahka I i ee J i longa eeh longah L elli ehllie M emmi ehmmie N enni ehnnie O o oh P pi ppee Q cu ckoo R errie ehrrie S essie ehssie T ti ttee U u ooh V vi or vu vvee, vvooh Z zeta dzetah </pre>

First and foremost, I want to apologize about the formatting of the alphabet.

Sicilian has five vowels and they are a, e, i o, u. Unlike Italian where "e" and "o" can sound open or closed, Sicilian pronounces these vowels only as open. Like in words such as "bet" "let" and "not" "more." Sicilian vowels, unlike English vowels, are only pronounced one way, no matter where they occur.