https://www.duolingo.com/MTegwyn

Welsh Places1 needs some work, I include some suggestions

Only because this is a Beta do I post this in such direct language, please see it for the constructive criticism I intend. I did try and search for threads already started on the Welsh Places skill (specifically Places1) and found none.

First I have to say as much as I have enjoyed most of the Welsh tree so far, this particular skill section was frustrating beyond compare. Second I am new to Duolingo but not to learning other languages, though this is the first time I have bothered to learn the written portions. Generally I learn to speak the language in order to get around, reading the paper doesn't really concern me over much. I welcome the new challenge :)

Concerning "Places1": Instead of using place names that should be considered proper if left untranslated, why not use non-specific places? Places like; grocery, book store, library, restaurant, movie theater, house, or any number of places. edit After consulting my notes I saw that we have already been introduced to Siop, swyddfa, Sinema, theatr, Ysgol, and Garej. This is perfect to reinforce that vocabulary and make it a little more functional. end edit **

Building on words we have already worked on combinations of "I like/want to eat/drink/make/walk/work at home/library/book store/etc" would be a better. This would build on the few verbs we have till now.

An introduction of 'Where is' wouldn't be out of place here either.

Some use of the nouns that were listed in the tips would also be useful to people that are intending to use this as a jumping off point to travel. Things like; beach, castle, church, hill, cave, park and plenty more could be a one or two additional lessons in this section. I dutifully wrote down each of the items in the tips and did not encounter a single one.