What would be the difference between vegetarian and vegan in Vietnamese? As a vegan I would like to ensure that there are no dairy products in my food.
I genuinely don't think we have a word for that. But the thing is, Vietnamese cuisine does not have much dairy. We do not eat cheese. Milk is usually obvious and in condensed milk form with coffee. When we an chay, usually everything I've eaten is veggies, fruits, and made of soy. If you want to be extra sure, you would have to explain veganism or ask if specific things are in the dish.
So I'm kind of confused of the nguoi an part, I know chay mean vegetarian but why is the nguoi an part added? (Sorry I didn't use tones, I'm writing this on a school computer)
Người means 'person', ăn means 'to eat', and chay means 'vegetarian food', so người ăn chay is like a relative clause meaning 'a person eating vegetarian food', or in short: "a vegetarian".