Duolingo is the most popular way to learn languages in the world. Best of all, it's 100% free!

https://www.duolingo.com/just.so

Report a Problem

Duolingo is fantastic. I've been at it for over 100 days and am three quarters of my way through my French tree. And now I'm beginning to get frustrated. It's partly to do with getting things wrong I think should be right, but this is to be expected: as the complexity of sentences increases there are understandably increasingly more translations that slip through the cracks. And my annoyance is not with this but rather to do with the reporting feature. At the beginning I felt I did not have the necessary experience to know when to report a problem, even if I really thought my answer was correct. After all, I'm a beginner. But more recently, when absolutely convinced, I report. To date, in well over a month, I've had no feedback whatsoever. Is it true that you are informed if changes are made and ignored if you're incorrect? If so, I'm feeling thoroughly ignored and indignant about it. I adore duolingo, it is one of my three preferred language learning tools, but I'm starting to lose heart. In fact, I've just lost exactly three hearts on a lesson where native speaking commenters have agreed with my translations. Some of these have been previously reported but not corrected. I've re-reported them but am not holding my breathe. I still want to love duolingo... my discussion point is: is there any value to a "report a problem" button that appears largely to be ignored? If it is not being ignored, why not give us some feedback? An open list of recently added translations would be fantastic. Even if not mine, I can see which issues are being addressed. Better yet, give a list of all accepted translations for a given sentence. Ok, I understand that this has probably been discussed and discarded as having the potential to open any number of vermiculate cans. My feeling: 1) If you want to have a community-driven platform then mak