Duolingo is the most popular way to learn languages in the world. Best of all, it's 100% free!

https://www.duolingo.com/Ollie_P

Word order and Hearing

Ollie_P

¡Qué onda! I'm a sophomore high school student currently taking my sixth year of Spanish (though, technically, it's the third level of Spanish that my school; the four years I took Spanish from 5th - 8th grade all counted as "Spanish 1"), and I just recently started using Duolingo by recommendation of my teacher. The point being that I'm certainly not a beginner at Spanish. However, I find it very difficult when I'm listening to someone speak Spanish to process the meaning of what they are saying as they say it because of the word order. This is usually because of the placement of DOP/IDOP pronouns. Por ejemplo:

"Ella se lo ha dado." - "She has given it to him/her/you/they"

When I'm reading or writing this I can look at the whole sentence and know what it means, but when listening to someone talk, the pronouns confuse me because in my head I have to think "Is this reflexive, direct object, indirect object? Who are they referring to?" I usually have to listen to the rest of the sentence and think about it before I can interpret who is doing what to whom, which frustrates me because it's not as if that's something I have to do in English and I feel like this could be a big hurdle towards me learning Spanish fluently. I think part of the problem is that I'm still in that point of learning Spanish where I have to translate the sentence into English in my head. I've been getting better at not doing that lately, but it still persists.

Any advice on what I can do to comprehend Spanish better and more naturally? Or in other languages for that matter? And how long will it take for me to get to the point where I don't have to think about what a sentence means and just understand it the way I would English?

4 years ago

2 Comments

https://www.duolingo.com/Adina_atl