Duolingo is the most popular way to learn languages in the world. Best of all, it's 100% free!

https://www.duolingo.com/kaphinga

Another (different) Question about Skill Strength and Decay Rates

kaphingaPlus

This may be a question for the Duolingo staff ...

I have been doing Duolingo for several years, and I have noticed that some of my trees decay more rapidly than I expect and other trees decay much more slowly than I expect. Of course, I realize that the decay rate depends on how many words I get wrong and how often I hover/mouse over words. Some languages (Dutch, French, and Russian) decay at about the rate I would expect, but some other languages really surprise me.

For example, I have been doing Italian since 2014. I am at level 25, have (or used to have) a reasonably high fluency rating in the high 50's, rarely miss or hover over words, and I have had no problem speaking or understanding Italian in my four visits to Italy over the past few years. But three or so Italian skills decay each day --- consistently. On the other hand, my Turkish skills decay very slowly --- more like one skill every four days. I will assure you that my Turkish skills are not nearly at the level of my Italian skills. I do my best on the Turkish lessons, but it's a difficult language for an English speaker, and I still miss a lot.

I am wondering whether the skill strength might be graded on a bit of a curve. Maybe my Turkish skill, while not perfect by a long shot, is better than the skill of an average Turkish learner? Or maybe Turkish is a shorter course, and the length of the course has an effect? Or did I do something back in the early days of the Italian course that set it on a different decay trajectory? I don't know.

Anyhow, I am curious, and I thank you in advance for any feedback or ideas.

(By the way, what I am asking about has nothing to do with the recent A/B testing for Skill Strengths. I have been noticing the varying decay rates for years.)

1 year ago