https://www.duolingo.com/Gerardd88

A simple but very effective method for learning on Duolingo

Gerardd88

I've been doing lessons on Duolingo for a bit less than 2 years without reviewing, and that method was fine for easier languages like Scandinavian or Romance. But I had a very hard time with Turkish or Irish and didn't even make it to the end of the Hebrew tree. Now I can hardly remember a word from those languages and will have to redo them in future. I was kind of frustrated, that's why when I started a new tree — Hungarian — I began thinking about how I could do the lessons in a better way. I've made a few extremely small and simple changes but they've helped me enormously. After finishing Hungarian a few days ago, I can say this is the tree that I've learned the most from compared to any other tree I'd done before. And Hungarian is much harder than most of those languages. I found this method so helpful that now I regret I hadn't started using it earlier, and I'm thinking about redoing several of my other trees. I was very surprised by how well such simple changes worked for me, so I thought I should share them. Maybe they will be trivial or obvious for some, but I discovered it myself after my 12th tree, so I hope they will be of help for others, especially for those frustrated and close to giving up on their trees.

So, the key idea is: Don't advance until you can write the whole sentence entirely by yourself. Easy, right? This helped me remember vocabulary on Duolingo enormously. When you see a sentence to translate:

1. Think if you can translate it entirely by yourself. If you do, it's fantastic — you've learned all those words well! You can go on to the new sentence.
  2. If you don't (because you can't remember a word or two, or the sentence contains a new word), do everything you would normally do — check the translations on hover. Try to think of a translation using those tips.