https://www.duolingo.com/profile/ron_fr

Pronunciation & Recommendations

Hello all,

I am new to learning German and am hoping to get some perspective on how to approach the process. My biggest concern--as it was for the previous languages I tackled--is the pronunciation, specifically when reading said languages and repeating it aloud. I want to know how others handled this obstacle initially, by either listening to spoken German or relying on the Duolingo lessons in the long run. While on the subject of spoken German, any recommendations for beginner's level podcasts, website, YouTube channel, etc?

Much appreciated!

July 2, 2017

4 Comments

https://www.duolingo.com/profile/Gerardd88

Relying on Duolingo is a pretty bad idea considering it has the robotic voice. I'd recommend learning basic phonetics of German. It has an extremely regular and logical system so once you know all the sounds, all the problems should stop. The key thing is to know what sounds (from the IPA) you should hear in what places. Once you're able to differentiate between all those sounds, you can work on anything in any way you want, also through simply listening.

Some of the best phonetics introductions are on this Youtube channel. I really like them and used them a lot. Each one has three parts — consonants, vowels and spelling. Here are the links to the introduction for German: Part 1 — consonants; Part 2 — vowels; Part 3 — spelling;