https://www.duolingo.com/hypershock

Timed practice

Can we please get 45 seconds in timed practice, at least for languages with non-Latin keyboards? I have lost so many practice rounds to typing the correct answer in the wrong language and either wasting time deleting my answer or getting marked wrong because I didn't catch myself. Even if I become a fluent touch typist in my target language, switching keyboards will be a problem.

Also, Russian has really long words, like удовольствием, which I simply can't type in 30 seconds while I'm still learning the keyboard layout (yes, I'm still learning the keyboard layout after almost 2 years or Russian practice).

October 8, 2017

3 Comments

https://www.duolingo.com/slogger

psionpete is right--until you can touch-type well on whichever keyboard layout you are using, do the non-timed practice. For those who do know the keyboard, 45 seconds would not really amount to timed practice very often.

If you've been struggling for two years, try working on learning to touch-type in Cyrillic as a skill all by itself. Once you've mastered it, Duo will be so much easier in Russian! It does not take very long, and it's a real ego boost when you have mastered it, besides. Try sites/apps like these:

And/or ask for advice if you grind to a halt. FWIW, I learned to type on the standard Cyrillic keyboard just using a text editor, which you could also do, if you like, but some of the above look fun for learning and are great for practice.

For the website (any OS) and handhelds, switching keyboards generally can be setup so as to require no more than a keystroke or two and is not a problem.

Which keyboard layout are you using, by the way--standard or "phonetic"? See shady_arc's explanation.

October 8, 2017

https://www.duolingo.com/psionpete

While you are learning the keyboard/alphabet it is probably better to use the non timed practice.

October 8, 2017

https://www.duolingo.com/piguy3