https://www.duolingo.com/Usagiboy7

Are your language goals holding you back?

A bunny who wants the moon
Image source

Thanks to yousraserry's post On Quitting languages, I remembered this piece that was sitting in my draft box. So, I've dug it out in the hopes it might help people fall in love and stay in love with language learning.

I have a really hard time retaining things due to a tramatic brain injury. (Some people struggle even without a TBI and there's no shame in that either.) When I started learning languages, my goal was to be fluent, and that's where my troubles began.

My strawberry is too big!
image source

I took 2 years of Spanish and 2 years of Japanese in university. Then, I studied Spanish on Duolingo full bore for two years, combining it with other resources. However, if I looked away for half a second, what I learned evaporated.

I got discouraged and decided to try another language. I'd always wanted to learn American Sign Language. Starting it breathed new hope into me. I went on to study ASL intensely for a year and kept going with Spanish. Again, evaporation. When I lost a 994 day streak, I gave up. It had really been the last thing keeping me going through the mire.

I'd put in a ton of work and yet what I reaped was a feeling of failure. It was very discouraging to invest so much time and energy to the end result of feeling negative about myself.

unrealistic expectations kitten
Image source

Exploring a language is fun and exciting to me. I wanted to keep doing it, but also to not end up feeling rotten. And so, after taking a year away I changed my goal and came back. For each language, I asked myself a set of questions to assess interest and priority.

1. Will learning this language give me access to or improve something already in my life? (Family, Friendships, job opportunities, hobbies, travel etc.)?