https://www.duolingo.com/London363920

Japanese Placement Test

I'm an advanced Japanese student that has just finished taking N2 (I need 50 percent to pass; fingers crossed). I was curious to see if there were a supplement that would help me with kanji, so I took the placement test to this program. I would like to point out that a number of the sentences used on the placement test are clunky, unnatural, or incorrect, sentences that seem to be function on a program that is better suited to roman languages, it appears.

かみがあります。There is paper/it is paper. ALSO I have hair.

I'm wondering why there is an excessive amount of pronoun usage in the 2nd person, because Japanese as a high context language does not need (rather, is unnatural with) the inclusion of many second person pronouns. For example: "Translate into English: かのじょの電話ばんごうはなんですか"

While I understand that the translation is supposed to be "What is her number?" Natural Japanese speakers would never heavily rely on 彼女or彼 because they are RUDE to use in the language.

I am wearing a skirt: スカートをはきます。Was a correct answer for one of the test questions. It is probably the most wrong of any of the questions. スカート をはいています。Is probably more accurate, as スカートを履きます means "I am putting on a skirt" not, "I am wearing a skirt."

"Translate: this test is not easy." I put "このテストは優しくないです” the correct answer was "このテストとはぜんぜんやさしくないです” which is arbitrary and kind of annoying.

"College exams are very hard" - the correct Japanese should be しけん not テスト

Some of the test questions were confusing and it was very difficult to pass the test when I wasn't able to write in Japanese. Particularly "Please borrow a pen from your friend." The Japanese used てください which was very unnatural, and the sentence itself is something you'd really never hear. -te form seems to be taught, but only in terms of てください、 and not ている。I saw at max 20 kanji in total.