https://www.duolingo.com/Namejs

Japanese, Chinese, Korean or Vietnamese?

Hello everyone!

I have been thinking a long time about learning an Asian language and now i have an opportunity to choose between four of them already. The problem is that i have no clue which one to choose. There are too many factors to consider.

By the sound i think i like all of them. Which one would you suggest me and why? Which do you think is the easiest to learn? Which one has the easiest pronunciation or grammar? Which one would be the most beneficial to know?

Let me know what do you think. :)

December 20, 2017

5 Comments

https://www.duolingo.com/Michael.Lubetsky

I lived in Japan for 6 years and had work assignments/projects in China, Vietnam and (to a lesser extent) Korea. I have some experience with all four languages and can offer a few reflections:

1. By “Chinese” I assume you mean Mandarin — which is the official language of China and Taiwan. You should be conscious, however, of the fact the word “Chinese” also encompasses Cantonese, Hokkien, Shanghaiese, and other quite different, but related, languages. The funny thing is that all these languages are written basically the same way, such that a speaker of one can more or less read and understand anything written in another — a wonderful consequences of using an ideographic writing system (discussed below).

2. Pronunciation:

Mandarin and Vietnamese are both tonal languages — Mandarin has four tones and standard (Hanoi-dialect) Vietnamese has six. In Mandarin (for example), the word “ma” can mean “mother” or “horse” depending on how high or low your voice is (and those are two words that you really don’t want to mix up). I didn’t find the tones particularly difficult, but they give the language a very different “vibe” than what English-speakers are used to and it can sound discordant. You should listen to the languages a bit and see if you like the overall sound before making a decision of what to study.