1. Forum
  2. >
  3. Topic: Duolingo
  4. >
  5. You cannot become a chef by s…

https://www.duolingo.com/profile/Langschiff

You cannot become a chef by studying recipes!

Hello, friends in language-learning,

I have never written a post on Duolingo before, but I am encouraged by the helpful community that I have so-far seen, and I think that I have something helpful to contribute. For some contextual background, I am an L1 English speaker hoping to join the ranks of the bilinguals (and perhaps even the polylinguals, someday), who has never had much interest in languages before making a life-commitment to master at least one – Deutsch (since my favourite writers, philosophers, theologians, cultures, recent history, and current European affairs, are all centered around this beautiful language, and I have dreams of having a life and career there).

Anyway, I have been gobbling up vocabulary and drilling in grammar quite intensely now for some months, to the point that I am beginning to follow and understand radio and television shows, break-down DE books and websites, and even getting into the habit of searching and writing in Deutsch rather than English. However, it has been quite a silent and individual journey thus-far, and I thought that committing to something more physical would help me to realise any linguistic potential I may have.