1. Forum
  2. >
  3. Topic: German
  4. >
  5. Hilfe mit Konversation/Vertra…

https://www.duolingo.com/profile/Pretenshus

Hilfe mit Konversation/Vertrauen

I'm a 4th year university student with German as a minor. I had a presentation today in complete German and... well it was very humbling, A TRAINWRECK. I'm the only minority, the 7 other students dont interact with me much, they are near fluent , and I already have a fear of public speaking in English so German is x100 worse. The entire class is German conversation.
Everyone speaks so casually but not to me so a practice buddy is out of the question.

My grammar isnt horrible but I'm still too afraid to stack verbs and clauses, use prepositions or da-compounds, nonetheless in different tenses.

So my main question is.. how does everyone break out of the 3rd grade German phase and gain more confidence? At this point I'm too afraid to talk even though thats exactly what I need to do. I'm a 4th year German minor and Im behind.

What habits work best for you!?

January 25, 2018

2 Comments

https://www.duolingo.com/profile/mofalt

Speaking a foreign language is stressful. That is the most usual thing. I never liked speaking out as well (but today I am fluent in several languages). What can you do?

• First, according to my experience, quick learners are often rather superficial learners. They often (not always though) lack pursuit of perfectionism, but are readily content with their skills so far. Whereas tacit people may be a bit more reserved due to their own standards they do not meet. Keep this in mind. And just keep on. Chances are you might overtake them rather sooner than later.