https://www.duolingo.com/profile/Rambobmar

How do you remember what someone says in another language?

So, I've been learning Chinese through my school for 5 years now and I'm not too bad. My reading, writing and speaking skills are generally pretty good but the one thing I really struggle with is my listening skills. Though I can easily understand a word I've learned when it is spoken to me, I struggle to remember all the words said when a sentence is spoken, not even mentioning a conversation, which I certainly struggle to keep up with the details. I've done a bit of research into this such as trying to watch more Chinese movies and TV shows, but I tend to lack the vocabulary at the moment to really know exactly what they're on about, hence why I've started to also do Chinese on duolingo. Does anyone know of a strategy to remember all the words said, in order, or figured out a way, which they would like to share? Thank you

March 23, 2018

5 Comments

https://www.duolingo.com/profile/Procellis

The first time I went to China I struggled with this too. I just couldn't handle the overload of information. A sentence with one unfamiliar word was alright, I just had to ask what it meant, but when there were two of them my thought process completely broke down. I found a small school that gave lessons in listening comprehension, and I improved really fast through their method slightly modified by my demands. I don't know if it would work for you but I tried it on my own a few months later, and once again made great progress.