https://www.duolingo.com/xConni

For the experts out there...

So I'm currently learning German in my school, and so I decided to use Duolingo just to keep me refreshed on things that we learn. But I also wanna learn different languages, and not just use Duolingo for German refreshers. So I'm wondering; should I keep doing what I'm doing? Or should I finish the tree and then start a new one? Thanks for reading.

May 17, 2018

4 Comments

https://www.duolingo.com/Daoken

I've been studying languages since 2015, I speak 8 languages (all with different levels of fluency) and acquired some experience with time. So I'll presumptuously call me an expert.

You should try first. Some people like to learn just one language at the time or some prefer and also are able to learn two or more languages. You have to find what do you like and which path fits you the best If you are choosing the second path, then here are some tips:

-Motivation: Ask yourself why. Do you really want to learn multiple languages at the same time? Why? This is totally personal so I don't have any words but I can give you my personal motivation.

I just love history, learning about other cultures, ways of thinking and art, so that motivates me to study those languages.But the difference when you are learning multiple languages at the same time is that you beginn to connect some points. Per example: -The similarities between Korean, Japanese and Chinese. (some in grammar some in vocabulary) -The tons of vocabulary that comes from Greek in European languages. - Cultural connections between countries: The historical connection between Greece and Italy. How Peter the Great from Russia introduced tons of french words because he loved Europe and how Pushkin is important for the russian language

This is my motivation, so now you have to find yours

-Focus: Study multiple languages, learn one.