https://www.duolingo.com/JulioVera766921

Help, when do we use du and when can we use dir?

I am just starting out my german tree and I just can't figure out when can we use du like "und du" and when can we use dir, which all of them mean you.

Thank you very much.

9 months ago

4 Comments

https://www.duolingo.com/7hAu0bvY

du (you singular) is a pronoun used to adress people who have a relationship to you which is close enough to use informal speech... (basically friends and family... though nowadays it is not that strict anymore.)

the form of the ponoun changes according to the grammatical case.

dir is the dative form of du...

the 4 cases in german grammer (accusative, dative, genetive and nominative) are all connected to a w question..

the question for dative is "wem"? (whom?)

Ich gebe dir das Buch... (i give the book to you) so the question would be: Wem gebe ich das Buch? (to whom do i give the book) Ich gebe es dir ( i give it to you)

Die Tasche gehört dir. (the bag belongs to you) q: Wem gehört die Tasche? (to whom does the bag belong?) Sie gehört dir (it belongs to you)

9 months ago

https://www.duolingo.com/ofred19

You're pretty early into the course, so I imagine you're getting caught up on the

"wie geht es dir"
compared to, say
Ich heiße Hans, und du?

constructions. Correct?

As noted below, German changes its pronouns to reflect what the pronoun is doing in the sentence. It's just like English:

I see the dog | He sees the dog | Thou seest the dog
The dog sees me | The dog sees him | The dog seeth thee
The dog is mine | The dog is his | The dog is thine