1. Forum
  2. >
  3. Topic: Italian
  4. >
  5. Qualche/ Alcuno-- I'm still l…

https://www.duolingo.com/profile/MABBY

Qualche/ Alcuno-- I'm still learning

I never get thrown by sentences that require you to use a singular noun after the word "qualche" any more.
Like the rest of you, I learned the hard way. I finally got sick of being marked incorrect, and I memorized the darned rule.

• Qualche mela = some apples
  • Qualche libro = some books

That is until today, when I was doing a refresher on Present Verbs 1 and was told to translate, "Some fish fly".

"Aha!" I thought. "Can't fool me!"
And so I typed in:

• Qualche pesce volano

And it was marked incorrect!
The correct answer is apparently "Qualche pesce vola", if you were wondering. Even though "some" clearly points to plural, in English, in this case, which is why I chose "volano".

Do I now have to remember to use a singular form of a verb after qualche, as well?
Or is this only for "fish"? Or only when qualche is an adjective (I think it can become an adverb, too....)

I've encountered the same confusion with another adjective: Alcun (alcuna/ alcuno/ alcun'/ alcune/ alcuni) and I've decided that, unlike qualche, they don't require a singular noun to follow if they are already plural:

• Alcune mele
  • Alcuni uomini

But "alcun", "alcuno" and "alcuna" are by nature singular (and I'm never truly sure when to chose alcun over alcuno anyway), so are phrases like "Alcun libro" and "Alcuni libri" interchangeable?

I know that in the "negative" you can say: "Non c'è alcuna fretta" ("There is not any hurry.")
But I can't think of an example in the "positive" sense.

June 3, 2018

3 Comments

https://www.duolingo.com/profile/Pietro.F

"Do I now have to remember to use a singular form of a verb after qualche, as well? Or is this only for "fish?"

Yes, if the noun is singular (even if only because you are using qualche) then it must always be treated as such.