I've been away for a few months and came back to this new "crowns and levels" stuff. How many crowns can you get on each skill? And how many levels are there in Norwegian? Just trying to see how much further I need to go.

July 31, 2018

  • 179

Crown Levels are capped at 5 crowns per skill, while XP levels (the ones next to your flags) max out at 25.

July 31, 2018

I would like to add that you don't have to do all the 5 crowns in one skill in order to do the next skill. You can go through the entire tree at crown level 1: As soon as you have taken one row of skills to level 1, the next row of skills will open. So you can decide if you want to do skills more intensely, or if you want to get an overview of all the skills first, or do a mix of the two (that's what I do: I move on if I feel like learning new stuff, and I do (part of) a crown level if I want to redo and get variations of something that I've already worked on before).

July 31, 2018

Duolingo no longer has explicit visual support for spaced repetition (skill decay), but it can be found a third party website:

August 1, 2018
Learn Norwegian (Bokmål) in just 5 minutes a day. For free.