https://www.duolingo.com/profile/FelixGrtzm1

Accessibility for blind users

Dear Duo Lingo community, I am a blind software developer living in Germany, and I am currently using Duo Lingo with great success to improve the rusty bits and pieces of French I once learned at school. I don't actually need it for anything right now, it just seemed like a more meaningful thing to do in my spare time than playing casual games. In fact it feels much like playing a casual game, which is good! Being blind, of course, learning a new interface is always an adventure for me as I tend to run into hurdles which most sighted users don't even perceive. The same, to some degree, goes for Duo Lingo, but using the website I can get by as long as I ignore all the stuff about crowns, points, and making my avatar look fancier. But that's OK, I'm just here for the French and the fun of honing it. I'm more into self-realization than self-optimization, and so the gamification aspect isn't strictly necessary for me. However, there are two, let's say, real problems I am facing, and I'd like to discuss them here. First, the iOS app. It's actually usable for blind people with some patience and some trial and error, but it's not exactly user-friendly. The most notable problem for me is when it gives me a French sentence to be translated into German. It will show a list of words which are at my disposal, and I click on the words in the order in which they pertain to the translation. The problem is that this is time-consuming and takes away most of the flow experience because I spend a lot of time hunting on the screen for the next word. That is, I know the answer and could type it right in but the interface forces me to find it on the screen and thus slows me down. It would be such a nice improvement to the app if there was a keyboard I could bring up to just type in the German translation of what it's showing. The other thing I find frustrating is that I can't find any vocabulary lists for the va