https://www.duolingo.com/EricSchroe

How long does it take to speak Korean fluently?

After hearing stories about people learning Korean in a year, I finally found a great and honest response about how hard Korean is from Quora.

I've been living in Korea for a year and still struggle to hold a conversation. After finding this answer below I feel so much better about the journey and am prepared to put time and work in for many many years!

I hope this helps you on your journey! :)

Answer Quoted below

“First of all, ignore the answerers who say Korean is easy and that the writing can be mastered in a week. That's just wrong. Korean may have only 24 letters, but just because someone can read the letters doesn't mean they can read. You could learn the whole Korean alphabet today, but that doesn't mean you'd have a single clue when you opened up Joseon llbo (one of the national newspapers).

Despite not being Korean, I graduated from Yonsei University Korean Language Institute, and I also scored Korean Language Proficiency Test Level 5 (advanced, 6,000+ words, university entrance level). I also lived in Korea for five years. I also passed the New York University Korean Language Exam with a perfect score of 16 credits out of 16 credits, and shortly before leaving Korea, I was offered a position as an interpreter. Therefore, I feel qualified to answer this question.

All told, I would estimate I spent about 1,500 hours in various Korean classrooms of one type or another, lived with a Korean woman for over a year (we spoke primarily Korean), and went about all my daily tasks in Korean for several years. After all this, I would only rate myself as "advanced, but not fluent," and my KLPT score backs this up. I am honest about my ability -- many people say they are fluent, but I highly doubt they could catch the majority of jokes in a comedy program, or listen to the president's speech and tell us exactly what he's saying.