https://www.duolingo.com/profile/fotoflo

Indonesian Beta Suggestions, bugs, and general product feedback for Duolingo.

Hello, Overall, there's a great learning experience here (I'm 17 lessons in, at level 2 on most of them).

However, as a product manager by trade with 6 years language teaching (English in China) and 15 years of language learning (I speak Mandarin fluently... and some Spanish) under my belt, I can't help but give you guys some suggestions...

1. How do I get Tips and Notes in the mobile app? Seems like a bug that it's missing...and an important one to fix. Some cognitive understanding about what you're about to learn can really help.

2. I think that whenever I tap an Indonesian word it should speak. And whenever I see an Indonesian word I should be able to tap it. This is part of "getting the language into my head" -- hearing it as much as possible.

The first word in a "tap what you hear" never speaks.

In translate this sentence, the first word doesn't speak if it is capitalized.

You should be able to tap the solution sentence and hear it pronounced.

"Select the correct translation" should speak when tapping the translation

"Correct solution" should speak

"Correct solution" should allow you to tap words for their definitions

1. Capitalizing a word in the word list is a huge hint that this is the first word in the sentence... is this on purpose?

2. About learning Affixes... ( Ber- Me- etc)

The app goes straight into learning affixed words, all of them sound and look the same to the novice. It would be good to first learn a few of the root words before applying affixes. Or to learn them in the affix lessons themselves. Otherwise, we're learning affixed words without the context that these are affixes... it seems illogical.