confused about new system

Guten Tag! It has been several years since I have worked in Duolingo, and I am confused with the new format (not complaining, just confused). It used to be that the units were marked by medallions and that each medallion had a specific number of lessons with specific list of words to learn for that individual lesson, so Unit 1 might have seven lessons, for instance, and each lesson might teach a new, specific list of words, maybe five to ten words, and I had a strong and clear sense of progress. Now I can't figure out how many lessons are in a unit -- seems like they just keep going and going -- or what specific words will be taught in the unit (again, NOT complaining -- just confused). Is the new format that each unit/medallion offers endless practice opportunities for the same material, and the learner stops clicking on new practice sessions in the unit when he or she feels confident? Thank you for any comments!

January 1, 2019


The advice in the English Duolingo Help Center

you don’t have to get to Level 5 right away!

We in fact recommend you don’t get to Level 5 all in one go.

Level 5 is there to show that you have practiced the words in that skill a ton and probably don’t need further practice on it for quite a while. It’s completely optional.

We definitely think we can do a better job of encouraging you not to binge on one skill, though, since that can feel really repetitive.

How can you make the program add new material?

  • Tap on a new skill in "crown level" 0 (purple circle)
  • do all the lessons in that skill until the skill has reached "crown level" 1 (blue circle)
  • tap the next new skill in "crown level" 0 (purple circle)
  • etc. etc.

When are you going to do lessons in skills with "crown level" 1-4?

January 1, 2019

Wonderful! This information is very helpful and thorough. Thank you, Pentaan!

January 1, 2019

Ah, that is a helpful article and makes good sense! Thank you, mk939!

January 1, 2019
Learn German in just 5 minutes a day. For free.