I accidentally have a teacher account and I can't buy duolingo plus. I made a new account, but ....
I have been using duolingo for months, with what I think is a teacher account, and I can't access the forums or upgrade.
So I made a new account, now I can access the forums but I don't want to lose all my hard work on my levels.
Is there a way to get hold of a support person to switch my account type?
There are no different sorts of accounts. Any Duolingo account can join a classroom, and any Duolingo account can make a classroom and have people join it.
If you join a classroom or leave a classroom that won't affect your progress or delete your data, or anything like that. It seems that the problem is that you've joined a classroom - just leave it, and the problem will go away.
The teacher and one student seem to really be the same account, with the same email address. So I am very concerned about what would happen if the student leaves. Some students can have accounts with no email address... so there does seem to be some kind of difference in account types in that case.
Yup, they're the same account. Not two accounts with different properties, but the same account. If that account leaves the classroom it will remain an account, and keep all of its data, it'll just stop being a member of the classroom.
Accounts created by classroom teachers don't necessarily have email addresses registered to them, but they're still Duolingo accounts like any other.
So I made a new account, now I can access the forums ....
I believe that you can leave a classroom as a student and keep your progress:
This Is still me, but under another account. I'm so confused... it looks like the teacher account is the same as the student account that is doing all the lessons. I'm worried about what will happen if I leave the class... I think I'd better leave things alone. I don't know how the heck this could even have happened. I can access the Teacher functions and make assignments, and can do lessons which all get attributed to a student with the same profile picture, email address and a name that's similar except for some stuff after a dot.