1. Forum
  2. >
  3. Topic: Japanese
  4. >
  5. 元気な vs. 病気の

https://www.duolingo.com/profile/LorenzoCabrini

元気な vs. 病気の

When I studied Japanese at the university, I remember one thing that really confused me was why you say 元気な人 but 病気の人. As this was in the days before Google (even before Alta Vista, in fact), I couldn't easily look it up.

I did have A Dictionary of Japanese Grammar (vol I and II), but it only offered general information on the particles な and の. I asked my Japanese friends, who looked at me like I was weird for even asking. No real satisfying answer from my professor either.

But now I wonder, does anybody have any good explanation. My Japanese is a bit rusty, but IIRC, な is an adjective marker, for the group of adjectives that sometimes are called な adjectives, whereas の is a general noun marker with several purposes, often used to indicate possession.

The use of な makes a lot of sense: 元気な人, a healthy person, a person who has the trait of health.

But how to explain the use of の in 病気の人? I tried to imagine it as something like "a person of sickness", but nothing I came up with really felt satisfactory.

I still wanted to understand why the particles would be different in the two expressions, so I began to speculate that maybe there was a time when the distinction between の and な wasn't so clear; that perhaps they were used interchangeably. However, that would still not explain why there would be a difference in modern Japanese.

Then I went to Japan and came to accept what the Japanese believe: some things you can only understand if you are Japanese. So I left it at that.