"He kumu au."

Translation:I am a teacher.

March 26, 2019

3 Comments

https://www.duolingo.com/DimitriDUM2

How to we say the verb "to be"? "He" or "Au"

March 26, 2019

https://www.duolingo.com/jdmcowan

The word "au" is the first person singular pronoun, so is translated as "I" or "me". It is never translated as "is" or "am", so I have the feeling you mistyped that.

Hawaiian doesn't really have a verb like "to be" (but you'll see below that there are a couple structures that can sort of be translated that way). There are four different Hawaiian sentence structures that accomplish the job of English "to be". I'm just a student, too, but I'll explain what I understand. If anyone comes in to correct me, they are probably right, but I don't want to see your question go unanswered.

1) If it is an adjective in the English, you can probably just put the adjective in the verb position in Hawaiian: Nani kēla wahine. Literally "Pretty, that woman," or in proper English translation, "That woman is pretty."

2) For equating two nouns, if you are talking about a single thing, then you can start the sentence with "He" (meaning "a/an"). The order is fixed, since the thing with "a/an" must come first: He mahi'ai kēla wahine. Literally, "A farmer, that woman," or in proper English translation, "That woman is a farmer."

If you are equating yourself to a thing, then I suppose it can appear that "au" is acting like, "I am", but that is due to the sentence structure and not a property of the word "au": He mahi'ai au. Literally, "A farmer, I," or in proper English, "I am a farmer."