https://www.duolingo.com/profile/Candlesmith

Bubble, Bubble, Toil and Trouble!

1. I am studying Hawaiian on an iPad Air2 and an iPadPro, using Safari. My first question is this: Is there a problem using two devices? They are identical as far as iOS (12.2), content, and set up. Both have the Duolingo app installed. I have an iPhone X and an iMac running 10.14.3, but don’t generally use them for Duo. Then I have the following problems:
  2. Nowhere on my profile is my time zone indicated. Since I live in Maui, Hawai’i, with three to six hours difference from the continental US, this is somewhat important.

3. Though I am a Plus member, the “Monthly Streak Repair” Benefit which is included and which is displayed as “Available”, is neither functional, nor am I notified when there is a need to use it. (Perhaps because it’s inoperable?)

4. Recently I am getting no email notifications at all from Duolingo. This includes lesson notifications. (And, NO, they are not in my Spam Folder.) I haven’t changed anything and don’t see anything unchecked that would account for this.

Most problematic of all, each and every day, in every single lesson, (and probably easily addressed):

1. In Hawaiian there is a symbol known as an ʻokina (ʻ) it is similar (‘), but NOT IDENTICAL to an apostrophe, [ ʻ ‘ ] and...... IT EXISTS ON NO COMPUTER KEYBOARD! In fact, none of the four diacritical marks available (‘ ' ’ `) are acceptable to Duolingo as an ʻokina and any answer using any of them is marked wrong.
    For example , in answering the problem: “Name this”: Answer: (the cup) “ke ki’aha” - will be marked INCORRECT Only. “ke kiʻaha” - would be marked - CORRECT Can you even SEE the difference? (I can’t either.) In order to get that answer right, students must go offsite to a Hawaiian dictionary, cut out either the answer, or just the ʻakina, (ʻ), return to Duolingo and paste! That is ABSURD!