My Thoughts on the New Arabic Course

[deactivated user]

Well, I gotta say, it's not that bad. I am going to talk about my dislikes and likes and opinions about the course. If you are reading this, I would love to hear your thoughts on the Arabic Course Duolingo has provided.I did not like the transliteration of the Arabic. I want to get use to the Arabic alphabet and reading Arabic itself. I am an non-native(American) and the Arabic was too easy for me. I knew and was able to figure out more than 50 percent of the Arabic that was taught. I do like how we are able to form and type sentences. I am happy that the Arabic Course is teaching everyday expressions people actually speak and use in their daily lives. I have been learning Arabic for about 2 to 3 years.

June 28, 2019

4 Comments

https://www.duolingo.com/WombatTassie

I am a complete beginner so happy to start at the beginning. Happy we have Arabic as an option. Shukran.

June 28, 2019

https://www.duolingo.com/Heike333145

I'm not a complete beginner (started to learn Arabic twice before, last time in 2009, but never got beyond the first letters because then something happened in my life that needed my attention).

I am also able to figure out many of the letters, but this is something I like about this course, and about Duolingo as a whole: It always tries to be an easy walk. So if I can figure out letters or syllables or (gosh!) even entire words, this fills me with appropriate pride and the wish to learn more.

I think this is a basis that will carry me even if something gets in the way of learning some day.

I need the transliteration for some time to get really familiar with the letters. I also like the fact that the vowels that are left out in normal writing are written at the beginning. All this helps me take one step at a time: An easy walk.

In this respect, the Arabic course is very "Duolingo", and I really like that. :-)