https://www.duolingo.com/doe95

Spotlights on Arabic and the Arabic course

Hi, guys. I am a native Arabic speaker from Egypt and I am majoring in Arabic in the Uni. I've finished the Arabic course by testing out the skills and I'd like to share with you my notes on it:

1- In Classical and Standard Arabic, the vowel or the vowel followed with n sound you add to the end of the words depends on the case (nominative, accusative, genitive...etc) for most nouns and for verbs in the present tense in certain cases. It's sth we study in Arabic classes at school and not all native speakers are good at, just like they may not be good at English, geography or maths. In spoken Arabic we don't change the end of the words depending on the case just like we don't do in English. What happens here is that the words are written without the vowel diacritics at the end of the words and the TTS engine sometimes add the right vowels and sometimes the wrong vowel.

You don't have to learn the rules of what vowel to add to the end in order to understand MSA. And I think if they pronounced the words in the sentences without it, it would be okay since they are teaching less formal Arabic. We as native speakers can read this way.

2- The structure of the sentences is MSA. And the TTS engine is reading in the way MSA is read. That's why it adds n sound to the end and stuff.

3- The rule of... for example saying (ْجارَك) if the addressee is a male and (ْجارِك) if it's a female is from the Egyptian dialect. In MSA it's (جاركَ) for a male and (جاركِ) for a female and the vowel you add to the (ر) depends on the case. So when they type it (جارِك) in a sentence with a female addresses based on the Egyptian rule, without adding diacritics to the (ك) the TTS engine that reads in formal considers the addressee a male by default and pronounces pronounces it (جارِكَ).