1. Forum
  2. >
  3. Topic: Educators
  4. >
  5. The Current State of Duolingo…

https://www.duolingo.com/profile/LeeStMartin

The Current State of Duolingo for Schools (Jan. 2020)

I am currently an Assistant Language Teacher (ALT) in Japan teaching ESL. I've been looking into incorporating Duolingo for Schools into (and even more so outside of) my classrooms but have run into several issues during my Alpha testing (tests I've done on my own). I want to try this system out with an additional Beta test with one of my smaller classes before adopting use for my entire school. I've perused the forum (which has a litany of issues on its own) and most of the things I've found are months if not years old.

I'm curious what other users have to say about the current state of "Duolingo for Schools"?

Here is a summary of initial problems I've run into:

Note: These "tests" were done for the "Learn English for Speakers of Japanese" experience

1. The experience is not consistent across various devices -
  2. Assignments are not available in the App version of Duolingo (Both iOS and Android)
  3. Assignments are not available in Android Mobile browsers, "desktop site" is required to see assignments (Both Chrome and Firefox confirmed via my Google Pixel 2)
  4. Assignments ARE available through Safari on an iPad
  5. The heart system is not present in the browser (Safari, Chrome, Firefox) and Android App versions
  6. The heart system IS present in the iOS App version (And the heart system is TERRIBLE.)