1. Forum
  2. >
  3. Topic: Educators
  4. >
  5. Assigning Challenges

https://www.duolingo.com/profile/MrsPeters12

Assigning Challenges

Good afternoon,

I am a teacher and I set up classes and assignments for my students. However, they are completing other assignments that I did not assign and can't see the ones I did. Is there a way to limit their access?

March 26, 2020

1 Comment

https://www.duolingo.com/profile/MadameSensei

This happened to me a few months ago, Mrs. Peters. We were getting ready to play restaurant in class: we had chosen who would be waiters and who would be customers, we named our restaurant, we decided on what food we would prepare and bring in, I unlocked all five of the restaurant skills, and I started each class with a beautiful note on the board that said, "Choose which restaurant skill you want to do while I take attendance." And then we worked on restaurant vocabulary and grammar skills for the rest of the class period, and talked about food. And then daily I reminded them that their assignment was to finish one of the restaurant skills. And yet, I had one student who completely ignored me and did something else entirely. Because he wasn't doing restaurant vocabulary outside of school (and honestly he wasn't very engaged in class), none of it was in his long-term memory. He didn't do very well when the big day came (That was their test, to order food in our pretend restaurant and sustain a conversation for 40 minutes). I figured that his failure on the test was lesson enough. After that, he listens to me more and follows instructions. And he is e-mailing me almost daily now that school is shuttered.