1. Forum
  2. >
  3. Topic: Educators
  4. >
  5. Can I assign a "past due assiā€¦

https://www.duolingo.com/profile/MaricelaSt1

Can I assign a "past due assignment" to only one student or specific students and no the whole clas?

1. How do you lock an assignment so students do not have access to it after the due date?
  2. Can I assign a "past due assignment" to a specific student and not the whole class?
  3. Can I set up my account to send me notifications after students turn in a late assignment in the email related to my teacher's account?

Thank you so much in advance for your assistance and responses. I am just learning and getting to know Duolingo.

August 28, 2020

1 Comment

https://www.duolingo.com/profile/MadameSensei

Hi, Maricela. If you have a student that joins the class late, then when you click on "assignment" right next to their name, there will be a button that says "This student has joined after the due date. Assign now?" or some such.

If they are already in your class and have just not completed the assignment, then encourage them to plug away at it. When you look at the assignment, they will show up yellow and "late."

You may also notice that some of your red "missing" students have numbers after the red bar that say "17 out of 25" or some such. That tells you that the student started but has not finished yet.

Warn your students that Duo gives you credit in the order than things are assigned, unless there is a large gap between what they do. So if they are late on one, they may wind up being late on the next.

So, your specific questions:

1. You don't lock assignments. If it is too far past the due date, the students will just be marked at red "missing," and it will never change to green.