1. Forum
  2. >
  3. Topic: Scottish Gaelic
  4. >
  5. When to put a before "a" befo…

https://www.duolingo.com/profile/leodaniel7141

When to put a before "a" before something??

Im new to this and im confused as to when you put "a" in front of some thing? for example you would say " a phiuthar" but for other things there is no "a" for example "athair", why is this and how do i know when to use "a"?

September 4, 2020

2 Comments

https://www.duolingo.com/profile/phoenix7777777

It's in the tips & notes. https://duome.eu/tips/en/gd

It's called the vocative case and is used when addressing someone, so when you speak to someone you add the 'a' in Gaelic (and lenite) and when you talk about someone you don't. Unless it's a noun starting with a vowel, then you drop it. :)

[deactivated user]

The particle a is used for different things.

1- It is used before a verbal noun in certain sentence structures. This is pretty complex grammar and quite different from English grammar, so don't worry to much about it at this stage--just be aware of it. Know that it lenites the verbal noun when possible, but it will be dropped before a verbal noun that begins with a verb.

Feum mi a thighinn dhachaigh - I can come home. A bheil thu airson a thighinn dhachaigh? - Do you want to come home?

(When it gets dropped) A bheil thu airson ithe? - Do you want to eat?

2 - It is used in the vocative case, when addressing someone directly, like with a greeting or a command:

Seall air, a Chaluim - Look at it, Calum.

When you address someone who is male, you lenite when possible. When you address someone who is female, you do not lenite.

Madainn mhath dhuibh, a Màiri. - Good morning, Mary.

And before names that start with vowels, it is dropped:

Thig a-staigh, Anndra - Come in, Andrew.