https://www.duolingo.com/alexandraRK

comments and suggestions

Hi, I'm a university teacher of Italian and I just checked out Duolingo to see whether this site could be useful for our students. In general, I think it is a useful site. It presents the grammar and the vocabulary in a pedagical way. I have some suggestions: the computer voice in the audio tasks sounds extremely artificial and is often incomprehensible even to the trained ear. There do exist better voice synthesizing programs on the market, maybe you should consider switching. There are also some inappropriate or errorful answers, e.g. Duolingo's translation for "please put on your jacket" is "per favore mettiti la Sua giacca", which contains two problems: the mixture of "ti" (confidential form) and "Sua" (respect form), plus the fact that Italian prefers not to put a possessive form after the reflexive dative ("ti") >> correct form (but counted as error by Duolingo): mettiti la giacca (confidential) or si metta la giacca (respectful). Another example: Duolingo suggests, as a possible translation to "le ragazze" - not only "the girls", but also "the children" > "the children" is a very artificial translation of the female form, as it normally is the male form ("i ragazzi") covering over a group containing both genders. My suggestions: double check the answers once more by Italian native speakers with a language teacher background. Otherwise keep up the good work, best wishes for your program, Alexandra

6/3/2013, 9:17:08 AM

1 Comment

https://www.duolingo.com/jesslc

Hi Alexandra,

If you want to report a mistake with a sentence you need to report it on the actual sentence by clicking the report a mistake button. They won't get picked up from the discussion forums.