Duolingo is the most popular way to learn languages in the world. Best of all, it's 100% free!

https://www.duolingo.com/luciennet

I wish there was more explanation in the "help" section

Hi,

I'm pretty new to duolingo, and just finding my way around. There's a few things I don't understand and haven't been able to see an explanation in the Help section or discussion etc.

1. How exactly does Immersion work? I can see that there are documents to be translated, but I don't know if they are being translated from German to English or from English to German. Do you have to translate a whole sentence at a time or can you translate the words you know and leave those you don't?

2. I don't really understand the points/reward system. Why would I care about a heart refill for example? What is the significance of losing hearts (doesn't that just mean I need to practice more? Which I am here for?)

3. Is there a way to sort discussions so I can just see those that relate to the language I am learning (German)?

4. Why is the American flag shown as a default for English, and can I change it to the actual English flag or my own nationality (Australian)?

5. When learning the language how much should I practise "strengthen skills" versus attempt new words/skills/levels for best language learning & retention? And how often should I use the flashcards?

6. Is there a way to download the words I've learned/am learning so I can use a flashcard program to create images to go with them for practice?

Many thanks in advance for any answers or tips you can offer.

Thanks, Luci

3 years ago

5 Comments

https://www.duolingo.com/Honore
Honore

This is user-created (so unofficial) but likely will answer many of your questions about Duolingo: Duolingo Wiki

3 years ago

https://www.duolingo.com/DeroGoi
DeroGoi