Duolingo is the most popular way to learn languages in the world. Best of all, it's 100% free!

https://www.duolingo.com/eGTFitzChivalry

Present tense distinction.

I am studying both French and Netherlands Dutch. I vaguely remember my experience with French in High school and College as distinguishing between the simple present "I eat" and the continuous present "I am eating" but I have seen no such distinction here and have often been marked wrong for making it in my translations of both French and Dutch. Can someone help to clarify whether or not this is a verb tense distinction that actually exists in other languages? If so, is it merely creating a complex verb tense using "to be" or are the distinctions different in French/Dutch? Much appreciated.

3 years ago

2 Comments

https://www.duolingo.com/landsend
landsend

The importance of expressing the continuous/progressive aspect with an own grammatical form is an oddity of the English language (among European languages) that it possibly inherited from Celtic languages. It is not that important in most other languages. In every language (that I did) there is a skill about expressing the continuous aspect in the target language, late in the tree. This is a good thing as to not fool learners. Those forms that you learn there exist, they can be used and they are used; they are just of very low importance compared to English. You need to understand them when you come across them (more in Dutch than in French) but they are not necessary to form correct and well-formed sentences.

For now just convert before translation every sentence using a continuous form to the non-continuous form and add a "just now" when it is not obvious from context that it should express continuous. Later in the tree you will learn the other forms but by then you should be familiar with the usual way of expressing in the other languages. (And that's why I don't tell you now how to do it.)