https://www.duolingo.com/GarrettWal3

Question about Duolingo and Spanish.

GarrettWal3

Hi, I just wanted to talk to some of the people who have completed the Spanish skill tree or people who are just well versed in Spanish in general. Here is my story: I have been studying Spanish for about 2 years now in school, but I am nowhere near fluent. When I started Duolingo, I tested for a level 10, and I have gotten to a level 11 since, as I was going through all of the subjects Duolingo thought I already knew. Here are some questions:

How has Duolingo made you proficient in Spanish? as it made you just good at reading, just good a interpreting, just good at speaking, or all three?:

At what level (in Duolingo) do you consider someone to be capable of reading and interpreting Spanish news/articles/cartoons/TV?:

Thanks for any feedback.

3 years ago

2 Comments

https://www.duolingo.com/rspreng

If you complete the entire Duo program you'll get to a high beginner/low intermediate level, better in reading than in conversation. The 'levels' in Duo mean very little.

3 years ago

https://www.duolingo.com/Lrtward
Lrtward
Mod

Well, first of all, "level 10" does not mean anything regarding proficiency. Duolingo levels are related ONLY to the number of experience points (XP) you have earned. You could do the first lesson a few thousand times and get to Duolingo's highest level, level 25, yet you wouldn't really know much Spanish at all. Or you could be a person like yourself, test out of most skills and then breeze through the rest as a refresher course and finish the entire course (they call it "completing the tree") at about level 13. So when you see levels, they are an indicator of the amount of time and effort a person has put forth here on Duolingo, but not an indicator of overall proficiency.