https://www.duolingo.com/DynamiteJones

Crowdsourcing possibilities in duoLingo

Hi everyone!

I wanted to comment on the crowdsourcing aspect of DuoLingo because I think their business model is genius. As far as I understand it (and please correct me in the comments if I am wrong), their goal is to translate the internet. They charge a fee to a website for the translation work, and we the users are doing the work for free through crowdsourcing, gaining points and leveling up in the given language while challenging ourselves with new context and words not seen in the lessons. Everyone wins.

I'd like to make a few suggestions about crowdsourcing, mostly to open up a dialog about what else a large base of multilingual, enthusiastic users could accomplish in the context of adding value.

The users could create content for the lessons. As of now, I believe DL creates all the content for the lessons. I am only learning portuguese but so far I have noticed that the questions repeat quite often within the same lesson, in different forms (eng -> port, port -> eng, multiple choice). Having such repetition is not as challenging to the user. I find myself thinking "oh yes I know this one. The commander speaks with the colonel." and I rely on knowing what the sentence says because I read it only a few questions back, instead of translating it/thinking in portuguese.

Sometimes I get all the way to question 20 before failing a lesson. When that happens it gives me a good opportunity to see how much content DL has put into a lesson. It seems to me that there are 20 and only 20 questions for each lesson, meaning I see the same 20 questions if I repeat the lesson. If the users created the content, there could be many more possible questions per lesson, meaning you may get no repeats if you do a lesson over again. This would make the lessons a bit harder but would also prevent the users from relying on question familiarity and instead have to think about each and every question.