Duolingo is the most popular way to learn languages in the world. Best of all, it's 100% free!

https://www.duolingo.com/ngarrang

How to properly preface my attempts to speak Spanish?

ngarrang

As I take the steps to actually SPEAK Spanish, I am thinking that I might want briefly begin by informing said native speaker that I am new to speaking Spanish and to pardon my mistakes.

"Soy nuevo a hablar español. Perdonas mis errores."

As you can see by my level, I am missing some of the tenses and there is a good chance I am using the wrong words. My concern is that I want to be respectful and not come across purposely being insulting should I use the wrong word. :)

My further thinking is that by saying that I am new to Spanish, that will signal them to speak slower than usual.

So, am I close?

3 years ago

10 Comments

https://www.duolingo.com/yodydee

How to preface? Smile and offer a beer... But seriously, if anyone gets offended by language mistakes after a polite preliminary apology, they should be avoided anyway.

3 years ago

https://www.duolingo.com/beadspitter

I think it's simpler to say that you are studying Spanish, rather than that you are new to it. (Ahora, estudio español.) I could be wrong, but I believe it will be a more immediately comprehensible statement. (In my experience, it also gets interest a lot of times. Oh, really? How long have you been studying for? Do you like it? etc.. You should probably be prepared to answer at least how long you've been studying. It seems a common response. You'll also want to be prepared to tell people where you're from - and if you're from the US, I would recommend using 'los estados unidos' rather than 'america'.)